Pancake Thursdays

Thursdays are pancake days at our house. I try to feed a varied diet to Sophie (and all my family, but I personally could eat eggs every single day for breakfast without getting bored with them). Today’s feature is:

Coconut-banana pancakes

Coconut Banana Pancakes

Ingredients

1/4 c all natural coconut butter (I like the Artisana brand)
1.5 c coconut milk (I use the So Delicious brand)
1/2 c coconut flour
1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 c all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1.5 tbsp packed brown sugar
1 ripe banana

Procedure

Mix the coconut butter and coconut milk until smooth. Add the banana (you can mash it prior, I usually just let the standing mixer do this). Mix dry ingredients with a fork and add to the wet mixture.
Put a dab of coconut oil in the frying pan (or pancake pan, whatever you use) and prepare pancakes.
Serve with Greek yogurt topping – I usually mix about 1 c Greek yogurt with 1/4 c coconut yogurt and 4-6 drops of coconut flavored stevia. This adds protein and no sugar (just skip the maple syrup!!)

This yumminess is less around 100 calories with ~12g carbs, ~4g fat, ~2g protein.

I usually make smaller pancakes to make sure they bake through thoroughly. After adding the batter to the pan, I cover the pan for about a minute, then flip the pancakes and push them down, cover again to make fluffly. After a couple minutes, I flip them again, this time not covering the pan. I know this may look tedious, but it works for me. If you have your own way making the pancakes, do it your way – and maybe share with me too, so I can learn new ways. I’m a constant learner. Let me know what you think!

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a comment