Recipe Highlight of the Week

I promised I’d be sharing recipes with you from my meal plan, so here we go. I had to modify this soup as some of the ingredients decided to rot 😛 but I think it even turned out better than it would have with the original recipe. And super bonus: Sophie loved it. Which is huge, because she’s been really picky her lunches/dinners. Oh, and it’s really hard to make a soup like this appealing and picture-worthy (for me, completely impossible), so no picture. If you do wanna see what it looks like, you can check out my picture food diary (https://www.evernote.com/pub/apple21hun/momofbalancefooddiary, we had this for dinner on January 13th)

Yellow Split Pea Soup with Yam

Ingredients:
1/2 yellow onion (diced)
1 small leek (mostly the white parts) (chopped)
3 stalks celery (chopped)
1c yellow split pea
1 medium carrot (sliced)
1 yam (1/4inch cubes)
4c veggie broth
1tsp dry thyme
garlic salt

Procedure:
Heat olive oil and saute the onion, leek and celery until translucent. Add the split pea, carrot, yam and thyme, mix well for about a minute. Add veggie broth, boil, turn heat to low-medium, cover, and cook for about 45 minutes (until peas are soft and smushy). I added the garlic salt about half way through. If too much of the liquid cooks off, just add some water, then puree in blender.

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a comment